FAQs

Not everything can be explained by itself. Therefore, we collected the answers to the most important questions of our customers on this page for you.

TimePunch Licenses

How many licenses are required?

You’ll need a license for each employee who uses TimePunch, regardless of the PC used by the employee.

License distribution with multiple sites

It is advisable for each site to order their own TimePunch licenses. Example: A Headquarter with 20 employees and 5 field representatives that uses TimePunch on their laptop. In that case 20 licenses in one block for everyone in the Sales Department and 5 single licenses (per 1ne field staff) should be ordered. In complicate cases such like this, we accept the order also directly by email or vi√° phone in order to avoid doubled input in the online shop for you.

Do I have to license TimePunch again when TimePunch 3.0 will be released?

That depends on the license type. The TimePunch subscriptions are independent from the used version and include all updates from TimePunch. The time-unlimited licenses, for instance 1.x or 2.x always apply to a major version. When TimePunch 3.0 appears, an update is therefore necessary. Existing customers get these updates naturally at a bargain price.

TimePunch Mobile

Which smartphones are supported?

At the moment TimePunch mobile is available for Android, iPhone and Windows Phone.

How is the data synchronized with TimePunch ONE and PRO?

We offer a free TimePunch time synchronization service. Data can be send directly from TimePunch Mobile over a secure SSL connection to the synchronization service caching and can be downloaded with TimePunch ONE or PRO again.

Where is my data stored when synchronizing?

We use the azure cloud services from Microsoft in order to cache the data. Through the use of encrypted SSL, the data connection is safely and for third parties not visible. Additionally, all data will be deleted after 14 days at latest unless they were not previously downloaded by the user.

TimePunch PRO

What are the requirements to use TimePunch PRO in a multi-user environment?

TimePunch PRO requires a Microsoft SQL Server version 2008 for centralized data storage. Should no appropriate database be available in your company, you can simply contact us. We can purchase, setup and install it for you on request.

Is there a free alternative to the Microsoft SQL Server?

Shall TimePunch be used in a small environment, the installation of the free Microsoft SQL Server Express is sufficient. However, the standard version of Microsoft SQL Server is recommended to achieve optimum performance.

What about Microsoft Access?

We don’t recommend to use Microsoft Access as a database operation system in a multi-user environment. Data security and performance can not be ensured in such an environment.

What about other database systems?

Other database systems, e.g. MySQL or Postgres are not supported by TimePunch.

How can teams in different locations work together?

For cooperation between teams in different locations, we recommend setting up a VPN network to allow direct access to the SQL Server.

FAQs

Nicht alles erklärt sich von alleine. Daher haben wir die Antworten auf die wichtigsten Fragen unserer Kunden auf dieser Seite für Sie zusammengetragen.

TimePunch Lizenzen

Wie viel Lizenzen werden benötigt?

Sie benötigen für jeden Mitarbeiter der TimePunch aktiv nutzt, eine Lizenz. Unabhängig vom PC, den der Mitarbeiter verwendet.

Lizenzverteilung bei mehreren Standorten

Es empfiehlt sich für jeden Standort eigene TimePunch Lizenzen zu bestellen. Beispiel: Eine Zentrale mit 20 Mitarbeiter und 5 Außendienstmitarbeitern, die TimePunch auf Ihrem Laptop benutzen. Hier sollten einmal 20 Lizenzen im Block für alle im Innendienst und 5 Einzellizenzen (pro Außendienstmitarbeiter 1ne) bestellt werden. Bei komplizierten Fällen wie diesem, übernehmen wir die Bestellung auch gerne direkt per Email oder am Telefon, um Doppeleingaben im Online Shop für Sie zu vermeiden.

Muss ich TimePunch neu lizenzieren wenn TimePunch 3.0 veröffentlicht wird?

Das kommt auf die Lizenzart an. Die TimePunch Jahresabos sind unabhängig von der genutzten Version und beinhalten automatisch alle Updates von TimePunch. Die zeitlich unbegrenzten Lizenzen gelten immer für eine Major Version, also z.B. 1.x oder 2.x. Bei erscheinen von TimePunch 3.0 ist somit ein Update notwendig. Bestandskunden erhalten diese Updates natürlich zu einem Vorzugspreis.

TimePunch Mobile

Welche Smartphone Systeme werden unterstützt?

Aktuell ist TimePunch Mobile für Android , iPhone und Windows Phone verfügbar.

Wie werden die Daten mit TimePunch ONE und PRO synchronisiert?

Dazu bieten wir einen kostenfreien TimePunch Synchronisations Service an. Sie können die Daten direkt aus TimePunch Mobile über eine sichere SSL Verbindung auf dem Synchronisations-Service zwischenspeichern und dann mit TimePunch ONE oder PRO wieder heruntergeladen.

Wo werden meine Daten zwischengespeichert?

Wir nutzen die Azure Cloud Services von Microsoft zur Zwischenspeicherung. Durch die Nutzung der verschlüsselten SSL Verbindung sind die Daten sicher und für Dritte nicht einsehbar. Zudem werden alle Daten spätestens nach 14 Tagen gelöscht, sofern Sie nicht vorher bereits abgeholt wurden.

TimePunch PRO

Was sind die Voraussetzungen zur Nutzung von TimePunch PRO im Multi-User Betrieb?

TimePunch PRO benötigt einen Microsoft SQL Server, ab Version 2008, zur zentralen Datenspeicherung. Sollte in Ihrem Unternehmen keine entsprechende Datenbank vorhanden sein, dann nehmen Sie einfach mit uns Kontakt auf. Wir übernehmen auf Wunsch gerne die Beschaffung, Einrichtung und Installation für Sie.

Gibt es eine kostenfreie Alternative zum Microsoft SQL Server?

Wird TimePunch nur in einer kleinen Umgebung betrieben, genügt die Installation der kostenfreien Microsoft SQL Server Express Variante. Um eine optimale Performance zu erreichen wird jedoch die Standard Version des Microsoft SQL Servers empfohlen.

Was ist mit Microsoft Access?

Wir raten dringend davon ab, Microsoft Access als Datenbank im Multi-User Betrieb zu benutzen. Datensicherheit und Performance können im Multi-User Betrieb nicht gewährleistet werden.

Was ist mit anderen Datenbanken?

Andere Datenbanksysteme wie z.B. MySQL und Postgres werden von TimePunch NICHT unterstüzt.

Wie können Teams in unterschiedlichen Lokationen zusammenarbeiten?

Für die Zusammenarbeit von verschiedenen Teams in unterschiedlichen Standorten empfehlen wir die Einrichtung eines VPN Netzwerks, um den direkten Zugriff auf den SQL Server zu ermöglichen.